You are here

Staff and Volunteers


The Dacotah Prairie Museum is operated by five full-time staff members, two part-time assistants, and numerous volunteers. 


Sue Gates, Director


Sue is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the Museum’s operations. Questions about artifact acquisition, research, programs, special events, policies, procedures, and general information can be directed to Sue.
e-mail: Sue.Gates@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 11

Sherri Rawstern, Curator of Education


Sherri oversees tour scheduling and education program administration. The Education staff provide program visits to a number of area schools. In the spring, area schools come to the Museum for "Afternoons in the Past."  Contact Sherri for questions regarding school visits, special programs, tours, and outreach programs.
e-mail: Sherri.Rawstern@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 13

Lora Schaunaman, Curator of Exhibits


Lora is responsible for exhibit creation and the production of outreach exhibits. She is also the director of programming at the Granary Rural Cultural Center in rural Brown County. Contact Lora for information about displaying art work/collections.
e-mail: Lora.Schaunaman@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 16

Jackie Ormand, Curator of Collections


Jackie’s main duty is taking inventory of the Museum’s vast collection and accepting items for addition to the collection. Jackie can assist in locating a previously donated artifact and answering donation questions.
e-mail: Jackie.Ormand@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 15

Patricia Kendall, Office Manager/Gift Shop Manager


Patricia is the operations manager and works with volunteers, special events, scheduling of tours, managing the gift shop, and taking research requests.
e-mail: patricia.kendall@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 12

Marianne Marttila-Klipfel, Part-Time Curatorial Assistant - Exhibits


Marianne assists the Exhibits department with research, displays and special events.
e-mail: Marianne.Marttila-Klipfel@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 20

Mary Locken-Baird, Part-Time Curatorial Assistant - Education


Mary assists the Education department with research, programs and special events.
e-mail: mary.locken@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 22


Volunteers 

The Dacotah Prairie Museum could not successfully function without the help of our faithful volunteers. Museum volunteers assist with reception, gift shop operations, exhibits, and tours. In 2014 3,350.50 hours valued at $24,291.13 were donated by volunteers.

Interested in volunteering? Please contact Patricia at 605.626.7117.