25 Market St   Aberdeen, SD 57401

Office Hours 8:00-5:00 M-F

Main menu

You are here

All Dakota High School Fine Art Exhibition





Annual event held at Dacotah Prairie Museum


[ABERDEEN, SD, April 2021] — The 26th annual All Dakota High School Fine Arts Exhibition was held at the Dacotah Prairie Museum (DPM) April 10-24 in an adjusted format to accommodate the ongoing Covid19 pandemic.


Twelve schools from both North and South Dakota participated in an extended gallery show with 70 pieces of student artwork. Normally schools would come for a day-long program that includes three art workshops conducted by professional artisans and a judging workshop with two professional artists, one from North Dakota and one from South Dakota. This year, students were invited to attend a single art workshop, either watercolors with Linda Roesch from Roscoe, SD or clay sculptures with Michelle Bacon of Aberdeen, SD. Seven schools were able to attend the workshops with their art teachers.


This year’s judges, Jay Hopkins from Aberdeen, SD and Cameron Peterson from Fargo, ND, were able to judge, critique and determine 15 award winners. Of the 10 media categories, winners are as follows: Paige Maner, Ipswich (3-D Sculpture); Kennedy Voeltz, Mitchell (Ceramics/Pottery); Sydney Beauvais, Fargo Davies (Drawing); Kaitlyn Sandland, Mount Vernon (Fiber/Batik); Reese Comstock, Holgate Middle School (Graphic Design); Karley Heminger, Sisseton (Mixed Media); Quincy Oliver, Ipswich (Painting); Paige Oswald, Aberdeen Central (Pastel/Colored Pencil); Emma Rehder, Fargo North (Photography); and Jordan Bullinger, Fargo Davies (Printmaking).


Best South Dakota Team: Groton, SD and Best North Dakota Team: Fargo North. Best in Show:

Juliana Conlin, Fargo Davies (Pastel/Colored Pencil) “Identity.” New this year, People’s Choice award to Anna Bisbee, Groton (Drawing) “Boy in Plaid” and the Lora Schaunaman Rising Star in the Visual Arts inaugural award to Raif Bartz, Sisseton (Painting) “Papa Garrett.”


The DPM staff has been involved in this event, which originated at the Granary Rural Cultural Center by John Sieh, since 1996. It was created to celebrate young artists and to encourage them to pursue a lifelong interest in the fine arts.

All Dakota Graphic


Judges Choice

Students Choice Thursday

Students Choice Friday

North Dakota Students

South Dakota Students