Main menu

You are here

Staff and Volunteers


The Dacotah Prairie Museum is operated by four full-time staff members, three part-time assistants, and numerous volunteers. Dick Schooley, Custodian, also pictured. (Leanne Shutt, not pictured.)


Patricia Kendall, MSA, Director


Patricia is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the Museum’s operations. Questions about artifact acquisition, research, programs, special events, policies, procedures, and general information can be directed to Patricia.
e-mail: patricia.kendall@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 11

Sherri Rawstern, Curator of Education


Sherri oversees tour scheduling and education program administration. The Education staff provide program visits to a number of area schools. In the spring, area schools come to the Museum for "Afternoons in the Past."  Contact Sherri for questions regarding school visits, special programs, tours, and outreach programs.
e-mail: Sherri.Rawstern@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 13

Lora Schaunaman, Curator of Exhibits


Lora is responsible for exhibit creation and the production of outreach exhibits. She is also the director of programming at the Granary Rural Cultural Center in rural Brown County. Contact Lora for information about displaying art work/collections.
e-mail: Lora.Schaunaman@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 16

Jackie Ormand, Curator of Collections


Jackie’s main duty is taking inventory of the Museum’s vast collection and accepting items for addition to the collection. Jackie can assist in locating a previously donated artifact and answering donation questions.
e-mail: Jackie.Ormand@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 15

Leanne Shutt, Office Clerk/Museum Store Manager/Volunteer Coordinator

Leanne manages the daily operation and clerical needs of the Museum administration department, works with volunteers, special events, schedules tours, and manages the gift shop.
e-mail: leanne.shutt@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 12

Marianne Marttila-Klipfel, Part-Time Curatorial Assistant - Exhibits


Marianne assists the Exhibits department with research, displays and special events.
e-mail: Marianne.Marttila-Klipfel@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 20

Mary Locken-Baird, Part-Time Curatorial Assistant - Education


Mary assists the Education department with research, programs and special events.
e-mail: mary.locken@browncounty.sd.gov
phone: (605) 626-7117 ext. 22


Volunteers 

The Dacotah Prairie Museum could not successfully function without the help of our faithful volunteers. Museum volunteers assist with reception, gift shop operations, exhibits, and tours.

Interested in volunteering? Please contact the Museum at 605.626.7117.