Main menu

You are here

Concealed Carry Permit


Individuals may apply for any of the listed Concealed Carry Permits at the Brown County Sheriff's Office: 

  • Regular
  • Gold
  • Enhanced
  • Restricted Enhanced

For any concerns or questions regarding any issued permits, please visit the SD Secretary of State website:


Requirements for Application Approval:

  • Must be a resident of Brown County for at least 30 days at the time of application
  • No Felony Convictions
  • Must pass a required background check
  • Must be 18 years of age or older


What is the difference between the Regular, Gold, Enhanced and Restricted Enhanced Permit?

Regular Permit

  • Is for individuals eighteen years-of age or older.
  • Allows Concealed Carry within South Dakota.
  • Has Reciprocity for Concealed Carry within 31 Other States.
  • Application fee of $10.
  • Regular permit has a green top banner.

 

Gold Card Permit

  • Is for individuals eighteen years-of age or older.
  • Allows Concealed Carry within South Dakota.
  • Has Reciprocity for Concealed Carry within 32 states.
  • Purchase exemption.
  • Application fee of $40.
  • Gold card permit has a gold top banner.

 

Enhanced Permit

  • Is for individuals twenty-one years of age or older.
  • Allows Concealed Carry within South Dakota.
  • Has Reciprocity for Concealed Carry within 38 other states.
  • Purchase exemption.
  • Application fee of $60.
  • Completion of a FBI fingerprint background check, including fee of $43.25 to DCI for processing.
  • Certification of completion of qualifying handgun course, which includes use of force training, basic concepts, self-defense principles and live fire training of at least 98 rounds. Cost of training not to exceed $150.
  • Enhanced permit has a navy blue top banner.

 

Restricted Enhanced Permit

  • Is for individuals eighteen to twenty years of age, inclusive.
  • Allows Concealed Carry within South Dakota.
  • Has Reciprocity in 21 other states.
  • Same requirements as for enhanced permit.
  • A person holding and unexpired Restricted Enhanced Permit who has reached the age of 21 may submit a written request to the Secretary of State for an Unrestricted Enhanced Permit.  The Unrestricted Enhanced Permit shall be issued at NO Additional Cost.
  • Restricted enhanced permit has a navy blue top banner and a black bottom banner stating "Restricted 18 to 20 years old".