25 Market St   Aberdeen, SD 57401

Office Hours 8:00-5:00 M-F

Main menu

You are here



Duane Sutton - Chair -  Phone: 605-216-0804
Mike Wiese - Phone: 605-228-1237
Drew Dennert - Phone: 605-252-1008
Doug Fjeldheim - Vice Chair-  Phone: 605-290-6094
Mike Gage - Phone: 605-228-2956
  • Mailing Address:

           Brown County Commission Office
           25 Market St Suite 1
           Aberdeen, SD 57401

  • Phone: 605-626-7110


Often scrutinized and seldom recognized is the important role of the men and women who shoulder the responsibility of county government through service as a County Commissioner. Brown County has a board of 5 Commissioners who are elected to staggered terms of 4 years.

They are responsible for the oversight of every service that Brown County provides. In general, County Commissioners are responsible for the care and preservation or sale of all county property; the audit of accounts of all officers having the care, management, collection or disbursement of any money belonging to the county; levying taxes; construction and repair of bridges; to open, lay out, vacate and change highways; to purchase or acquire grounds for courthouse, jail or other building sites; to establish election precincts in the county and appoint the judges of elections; and as a board of equalization, to equalize the assessment roll of the county in the manner provided by law; to furnish necessary equipment and supplies for county offices; to superintend the fiscal concerns of the county and secure their management in the best possible manner; to regulate the transaction of business in alcoholic beverages; to make ordinances prohibiting the sale or exhibition of any obscene matter; and for zoning, solid waste and water management along with a host of other issues that arise affecting Brown County.

The Commission holds regular meetings every Tuesday.