Skip to main content

Vital Records


The Register of Deeds office is authorized to issue certified copies of South Dakota vital records, such as birth, death and marriage. We also issue Marriage Licenses. Our office maintains burial records within each respective county. According to state law, birth, death, and marriage records are not open to the public; however, burial records are available. The Register of Deeds office works closely with the South Dakota Department of Health concerning vital record matters in the state of South Dakota.

A certified copy may be obtained in any County in the State of South Dakota if the event took place in South Dakota.

To obtain a certified copy of a Birth, Death or Marriage certificate, a person must complete an application and provide valid proof of identity in the form of a government issued picture ID such as a Driver's License. If you do not have a Driver's License or government issued picture ID, 2 of thefollowing forms

must be presented for proof of identity:

  • Social Security Card
  • Utility bill with current address
  • Bank statement with current address
  • Car registration or title
  • Pay stub ( must include your name, Social Security number, and the address of the business)

If requesting a copy of Birth, Death or Marriage certificate by mail, you must include a photocopy of your proof of identity and a self-addressed stamped envelope along with your check or money order made payable to the Brown County Register of Deeds and send to: 25 Market Street Suite 3, Aberdeen, SD 57401. There is a $15.00 fee for each copy requested. The $15.00 fee is required, by law, regardless of whether the record is found.

The requirements for obtaining a MARRIAGE LICENSE are as follows:

  • Both parties must be 18 years of age or older.
  • Both parties need to be present at the appointment to fill out an application and sign their marriage license application in our presence.
  • Each party must present government issued identification in order to apply for a marriage license. A valid driver's license or passport is acceptable.
  • The marriage license is valid for 90 days from the .date of issue. After 90 days it is expired and cannot be used.
  • If a marriage license is purchased in the State of South Dakota, it must be used within the State of South Dakota and cannot be used in any other state. However, the marriage license
  • may be purchased in one county in the state and the marriage solemnized in any other county within the state.
  • The cost of the marriage license is $40.00 cash only. We do not accept checks or cards.

If you are between the ages of 16 or 17:

  • You must have a parent or guardian's written consent. This form is available at our office.